Spectacles

21Jul09

Ty got his 1st pair of eyeglasses today. He’s been anticipating its arrival for over a week. I suspect he really likes them. He had spent quite some time selecting _the_ frame after his eye exam 10 days ago. Instead of showering him with “mom’s opinion,” I suggested that he ask a young lady clerk in the shop for feedback and backed off. She was friendly and gracious, and reassured him of his choice. He looks great. The “Transitions” tint makes him extra cool. On the way home, he also got a new hair cut.

Ty has been doing lots of new things this summer. In addition to advancing his C++ skills, he’s also blogging, Twittering and Facebooking. These are not foreign subjects to him, as TJ and I have openly shared our experiences and discussions with him since last year. I’m especially interested in his blog, although he has been challenging me: “I started blogging well after you did, and yet I have more posts than you do.” It’s okay. A little competition is healthy. Good to know he’s keeping scores on this front. It tells me he’s watching what I do, and I’m glad.

While I’m confident in my understanding of Ty and how we’ve approached his exploration in social networks, I’m also very fortunate to have encountered some great parents and their blogs: Brett Nordquist, Kim Nordquist, Barb Jacobucci, Bryan Zug, Jen Zug, Mike Henneke, Jeff Shuey, and Giyen Kim. Whether they know it or not, I’ve learned a lot from their writing and from conversations with them. Many nights, their posts have reassured me and lifted my spirit. Sometimes, Ty and I read these blogs and laugh together.

It’s such a joy sharing experiences with Ty, and it will only get better as he grows older. He is confident, sharp, observant, and thinks critically. Now he looks even smarter (and geekier) with those spectacles. šŸ™‚ Look for a picture of his new look on his blog soon.

I hope he always knows that I’m very proud of him.

2 Responses to “Spectacles”

  1. Appreciate the kind words about my blog.
    My 11 year old son got glasses recently and looks so good in them. But once he got to school and the kids made fun of him, it was all over. Hasn’t worn them since.

  2. What a great post Veronica. So much nuance packed into this story about you and Ty. And thanks so much for the kind words. Jen and I are so glad to count you as a friend.


Leave a Reply

